2024: Week #9: Catch Your Breath

2024: Week #9: Catch Your Breath

What was your week like? Full of this, that, and the other thing? Or, did the week contain days of sameness? Were there worries filling your mind every day? Did a bit of panic set in? Or, has there been boredom?

No matter what your week held, it is possible you are quite like me – in need of restoration. This past week held some appointments I wasn’t anticipating. My mind became occupied with unfamiliar thoughts. And now my brain is already skipping ahead to plans for next week, and the week after. I need to catch my breath. How about you?

Funny thing. Even when my days hold quite a bit of sameness, I realize the need for catching my breath. A reset, if you will.

The joy of Sundays for me is the opportunity for restoration. The habit of a day set aside to rest and worship began in my childhood and continues to this day. Stopping normal activity and replacing it with quietness, time in the house of God, a good nap, or guests around our table sets the stage for renewal, moving into a new week repaired for what the days will bring.

However, restoration is not reserved only for Sundays. God brings strength, revival, renewal, guidance and rest when we give Him the freedom to do so in our lives. Psalm 23:3 is for all of us:

“God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing. You have bedded me down in lush meadows, you find me quiet pools to drink from. True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction.” The Message

“…He refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.” New International Version

“He revives my life; he leads me in pathways that are righteous for the sake of his name.” International Standard Version

“He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.” King James Version

He, the Lord, refreshes, revives, restores, and lets me catch my breath. I am incredibly grateful.

4 responses to “2024: Week #9: Catch Your Breath”

  1. Alice Anderson Avatar
    Alice Anderson

    I needed to hear this. Thank you Diane……………..Alice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. dianefharris Avatar

      Alice, I am grateful these words were an encouragement to you. I am always amazed at God’s timing in these posts.

      Like

  2. hrohwedder2019 Avatar
    hrohwedder2019

    I concur, Dear Alice.
    And I’m praying you will be rejuvenated on this day of rest and all week through.
    Heather

    Liked by 1 person

    1. dianefharris Avatar

      And, may you be renewed as well, Heather!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

I’m Diane

Welcome to ShelteredPresence, In this corner of the internet we savor the holy sheltered presence of the Lord. Together, as we look to His Word and our shared life experiences, we delight in the nurturing He provides.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started